Question about Vega / Aries

Auralic newbie here…

I’ve the opportunity to acquire a used Aries / Vega combo, but am confused about their function. Do I need a computer to use this combo? I’m trying to get away from the computer…

My understanding was that I could plug my external USB HDD directly into the Aries, using a tablet app to control the library, and then use the digital output of the Aries to feed the Vega directly.

Is this correct?

Thanks - Boomzilla

Hi Glenn,

The answer is “yes”, you can do as you say, but the computer is still necessary to “manage” the content.

Take a look at this short video for further clarification.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bO1RHX3LuQ

Also note the improved screen on the G1 and G2 series, that makes navigating content a little easier if you don’t want to use the LDS app for some strange reason.

But most do use the LDS app or similar (Roon) on their iPad (primarily) or iPhone to navigate the stored or streamed content.

The computer is basically used to add or remove said content and update or alter the metadata (artwork etc), once done though it can take a back seat.

I still consider myself very new to streaming so if I’ve missed something I’m sure it will get corrected by those with more experience, but in the mean time I hope the above helps.

PS. Forgot to say you won’t be disappointed with your selection, the Aries/Vega is a great sounding system, just google for reviews, I don’t believe there is a bad one out there and they easily stand comparison with more expensive equipment.

Then if I understand correctly, this is the setup I’d need?:

And if this is correct, then why do I need the Aries at all? Couldn’t I stream directly from the PC to the Vega? Also, couldn’t I also connect my data USB HDD directly to the Vega provided the Roon program was managing selections?