5.8 & 6.3 beta firmware screws up web interface when accessing device via name rather than IP address - bug in JavaScript regarding CORS

Problem: the web interface is hosed in 5.8 on my Altair. I can access it through the Lightning DS app, but not through any desktop web browser.

Reboots (even using the hardware switch) don’t help. Playback is fine.

How can we prevent automatic updates to firmware, since software QA still seems to be a common problem with Auralic?

Before jumping to conclusions, i’d recommend you have a look at your routers DCHP table. You will most likely find your Aries on another IP Address.
And, when having changed FW, you might want to power cycle your Aries by disconnecting from mains, and reattaching.

Still no web gui? Well, actually it IS a webinterface you are looking at through Lightning DS! :slight_smile:

That is not the case. (FYI I am an IT professional.) The web shell is present, but the content in the right-hand side is blank. At first blush, this appears to be a JavaScript-related error. And of course I am aware that it is what I am looking at in the app; that I why I mentioned it as distinct from desktop web browsers.

What I might need some time to look into is whether or not the new 5.8 firmware employs JavaScript on the desktop web GUI that is calling external tracking servers that are blocked by my firewall. That seems a distinct possibility, and would be unfortunate if that were something that was changed “under the hood” in this release.

Update: I did that, and I unblocked two rubiconproject-related tracking sites, and simultaneously, everything started working. However, to test things, I went back and blocked the rubiconproject sites once more, yet everything else remained working. This is all likely a coincidence. But now everything is working just fine.

My Aries Mini just updated to 5.8 FW, so I thought I would check the web interface, which I always pull up via Lightning DS, and as per normal, it came up…